Skip to content
January 23, 2011 / mashappiness

This Place Where You Are Right Now

 

This Place where you are right now

God circled on a map for you.

Wherever your eyes and arms and heart can move

Against the earth and sky,

Our beloved has bowed there knowing

You were coming.

I could tell you a priceless secret about

Your real worth, dear pilgrim,

But any unkindness to yourself,

Any confusion about others,

Will keep one

From accepting the grace, the love,

The sublime freedom

Divine knowledge always offers to you.

Never mind, Hafiz, about

The great requirements this path demands

Of the wayfarers,

For your soul is too full of wine tonight

To withhold the wondrous Truth from this world.

But because I am so clever and generous,

I have already clearly woven a resplendent lock

Of his tresses

As a remarkable truth and gift

In this poem for you.

 

Poem by Hafiz

We talked previously about goals, endeavors, resolutions for the New Year. Slow and easy does it, we mentioned. The idea of working towards our goals in a slow and easy manner allows our body, mind and spirit the opportunity to transform towards living and being and doing in a new way. One of my goals is to move this year. To move to a place, a city, that I enjoy and is beneficial for me. I have wanted to do this for quite some time, and it is now that I have come to know and understand that now is a good time to do something that I long to do and need to do, and that waiting is no longer a good thing. So how do I process the message that it is beneficial for me to be present, where I am right now? How do I process the idea that where I am right now is blessed?

That is one of the reasons why I love writing. While writing I can come to understandings, come to see what was difficult for me to understand before. I was thinking before putting these words down right now that somehow I am supposed to stay right where I am right now, because it is in this space that has been blessed for me. That may be, I even hope so, that where I am is a good place and is beneficial for me. If this is the case I am lucky and I am thankful. I can make a list of good things about where I am right now, this is a beautiful thing. At the same time, is it alright if I seek to grow, if I seek to change, if I look to go to a place that I long for? There I can continue to grow and even blossom even more beautifully. I want to go where my heart summons me, and in no way does it mean that I am not appreciative or grateful for all that this place here has given me over the years. Simply it is time to change. There is a saying about not grieving the Angels. When we deny who we are and our desires for being and becoming all that we have been created to be, we grieve the Angels. I saw a film of a speech by Dr. Martin Luther King this morning. He was an incredibly gifted and courageous man. I think of all the incredible changes that have come into existence as a result of the work that he and many did, and I am incredibly happy that they did not deny or hide their gifts and abilities.

Wrapped up in all that we are, and are able to be, is us allowing more and more each moment, minute… each day allowing ourselves to become more and more of who we are and who we were created to be. I think for me personally, a big part of that is being in a place that I enjoy, love being in. I hope I find that place. I hope you are either in your place of joy or on your way, or getting ready to go there, or thinking about it.

I have learned that this place where I am right now… is blessed, and for this I am incredibly thankful and grateful. I hope that where I am going will allow for continued blessings, beauty and well-being… as my heart yearns to move…

How is the place where you are right now?

Leave a Reply

