Skip to content
January 27, 2011 / mashappiness

perfume your days…

I am now thinking about something as a result of a most brilliant post by a dear friend, la belette rouge. In the post she connects a pair of truly gorgeous shoes that she has never had the occasion to wear, after a long time… giving them away to good will, and dreams unfulfilled. This speaks to my heart as this has happened to me too many heart breaking times.

I found the prettiest warm scented perfume in a paris shop… a scent I absolutely love. I thought for years, actually, that when my life is better and right, I will wear it. It is beautiful and I can wear it in my beautiful new life. As I have held onto what I love, waiting for the perfect occasion before, it came to me to wear the perfume anyway, even though my life was not better and right. I have found that when I wear this perfume I love, it strangely shifts my world. Though I am not living in the city that brings me joy, yet. And I am developing now the career I have always dreamed of, and dreaming of a list of things I long for and am working towards, when I wear that perfume that I love, it gives me inspiration and energy and shifts my reality. I do find myself finding myself going to, and loving the ballet at lincoln center, dining out afterwards, enjoying the most delicious meal over red rich wine. Some one wants to kiss me, maybe because I smell so warm and sweet…

So though life is not as I want it to be, I find that when I do what I love, it shifts my reality and begins to usher in those occasions and experiences I dream of…

to pretend is to know oneself.  ~fernando pessoa

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. La Belette Rouge / Jan 27 2011 10:52 pm

    Love this! I am so happy to have inspired this. You are so right, it is best not to wait for your dream life to wear the things that we find dreamy. If you wear it….it may come. And it certainly is more likely to come if we dare to walk toward our dreams in our shoes and pretty perfume.
    xoxo

    • mashappiness / Feb 2 2011 5:07 pm

      ‘walking toward our dreams in our shoes and pretty perfume…’ i just love this image. thanks Belle!

  2. classiq / Feb 3 2011 5:48 pm

    You describe so nicely the way a perfume can make you feel. We have to work for our dreams to come true, so why not enjoy the ride as much as we can? 🙂

    • mashappiness / Feb 3 2011 6:04 pm

      classiq, what a wonderful way of looking at pursuing our dreams! so sweet of you to pop in… thank you!

  3. fashiontitbits / Feb 3 2011 6:19 pm

    It’s a great thing to do things that make you happy no matter what! I used to think that the right moment would come and then something special would happen, but eventually learn than living your life here and now is what really matters the most. I also have very special olfactory bond with my favourite perfume and a few other beautiful fragrances in general. Can’t imagine myself without them. 🙂

    xxx

    • mashappiness / Feb 3 2011 8:32 pm

      you are so right! it has taken me some time to learn this, but i am understanding this more and more. living life here and now is the sweetest gift. it makes sense to do it to our best! thanks for your insight, it helps me to realise the importance of living our best lives now, and not saving it. … so sweet your connection to beautiful fragrance… inspiring!

  4. Angie Muresan / Feb 19 2011 6:17 pm

    I have taken to wearing perfume every day, and I see a shift in my mood.

    • mashappiness / Feb 22 2011 7:44 pm

      Really? Oh I love hearing this. I don’t wear perfume everyday, now you have me thinking… :))!

Leave a Reply

