Skip to content
February 8, 2011 / mashappiness

Financial Peace

Russell Simmons a rich and famous person in the record business, among a whole lot of other gifts and abilities, has a new book out called Super Rich. It seems the new book is not necessarily about being monetarily rich, more so; it is about being rich in life in ways that seem to matter more… like being happy, well and content. Simmons says that money does not make you happy. He should know he has a whole lot of it. From what I can understand, the idea is that happiness comes from within… not from money. I mostly hear this from people who have money. People who struggle financially perhaps would like to have the privilege to say money does not bring happiness…

I agree with all my heart that money does not bring happiness. The part that get’s left out so often (I confess, I’ll have to read his book to see if he included this part.) is that having little or no money can be incredibly difficult as well. A number of necessities have to be paid for. If that does not happen, then the unhappiness brought on can be devastating.

I get it, what money can’t buy I’ll call my Priceless List.

Priceless:

  • Feeling good; body mind and soul
  • A sincere and beneficial love from family, friends, and community
  • Falling in love
  • A lovely sunset
  • I’ll give in and say while walking on the beach… it is quite beautiful!
  • The high that comes from a good hike in the mountains
  • Laughing long and often is a treasure
  • Feeling good in one’s own skin, sounds cliché but so true

 Through years of study and practice I agree that life is a treasure to be savored, and the best things in life, cannot be gained by buying them. The beauty in life and the abundant joy that is ours to enjoy is the sweetest gift…  At the same time, a financial peace is needed, for without a financial peace a lovely sunset is incredibly hard to enjoy. I know, I’ve been there. I’ve read a lot of books that aim to improve and bring meaning to people’s lives, this is admirable, but they so often leave out the part about financial peace. Did Russell Simmons include this part?

Dear Reader, what might be included on your Priceless List? do tell… Any insight on the idea of financial peace?

above photo via the lovely blog la vie sucree

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. classiq / Feb 9 2011 6:56 pm

    I agree, money doesn’t bring happiness, but it brings you the luxury of saying this and the financial comfort of realising what’s important in life. What money can’t buy: true happiness, love, the beauty inside, all the small things that count and brighten up our days: the infinite beauty and serenity you feel on the top of the mountain or when looking at the sea, people who make you laugh. There are many more, that’s off the top of my head.
    Ada

    • mashappiness / Feb 9 2011 7:07 pm

      Ada, thanks a bunch for sharing a few of your ‘priceless’ experiences; those moments in life full of sweetness and meaning!

      and it’s such a fine point you make about how money can bring one the luxury of realising what’s important in life… very insightful…

  2. fashiontitbits / Feb 9 2011 7:24 pm

    You summed it up beautifully! Yes, alright, money can’t buy happiness, but they can buy you pretty much everything your heart desires, including financial freedom, which, in its turn, becomes a freedom of choice. Once you feel free, you can’t help but feel happy. This is when you can take a moment to enjoy the sunset or have a walk in a park or listen to the sound of waves… If you are stuck with a hole in your pocket, your mind will be preoccupied with survival instinct: stuff the blue sky, ocean, sunset, flowers and birds – if you can’t buy the basics like food, pay for your house/flat/shack and pay your taxes and health insurance, you won’t be able to relax… I haven’t seen anyone who would be able to. Unfortunately, as romantic as I am, I am also pretty much down to earth and lived without much money in the past (not like I am a rich bitch now, but I work and can provide for myself) and I wouldn’t want to get back there.

    I think when it comes to money-happiness thing, it’s more important to have a balance. Yes, you don’t have to have a lot of money to “buy happiness”, but you do need a certain amount.

    P.S. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving lovely comments! xxx

    • mashappiness / Feb 11 2011 7:27 pm

      Hey Lil Rus! Balance is the key, isn’t it? I like so much what you have shared. I find in books that do share wise words about seeking peace, well-being and happiness, they rarely mention balance and a way of living in a world where other needs are met… spiritually, emotionally, physically and financially… a balance indeed is the key.

      It’s a pleasure to pop in on your lovely blog and see what you’re up to. I really appreciate your presence here… thank you! Have a sweet weekend:)

  3. Angie Muresan / Feb 19 2011 6:15 pm

    I think you did a wonderful job on that list, Audrey. The truth of the matter is that we live in a society that admires the rich and the famous, and that creates all sorts of complicated feelings within us, of wanting to have more. I don’t know if I believe in happiness. But I do believe in contentment.

    • mashappiness / Feb 22 2011 7:43 pm

      Thanks so much for your response. I keep learning more and more from this post, as I am learning different perspectives and insights. I am hoping to find a nice balance of living a life of meaning, financial peace, and not getting caught up on who has what, and how much… I do appreciate the words you have shared… thanks dear You.

Leave a Reply

