Skip to content
March 18, 2011 / mashappiness

Each friend represents a world in us…

 


“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive,” Anaïs Nin wrote. My friends—some twice my age, others half, some rich, others homeless, some black like me, others Korean, Mexican, Caucasian—have added richness to my life that only variety can bring.

I met Sally in the fourth grade. Who knows why, but we instantly hit it off. We played at recess, walked with each other down the halls, shared our lunches in the cafeteria, talked over everything, laughed until our sides ached, had sleepovers on the weekends and became the very best of friends.

We wrote notes to each other, carefully passing them through a series of co-conspirators during class. Our special messages were filled with many things; drawings, secrets, jokes, dreams and sometimes hopes about the boys…

I have been reading an article on friendship in O Magazine. the above lines are directly from the article. They are simply charming. The weekend is here. What are you up to? The weather on this side today is gorgeous! A gorgeous teasing of springtime… a bit of a taste until spring in all her abundance arrives. I am thinking of friendship this weekend. Missing friends who are not near, and looking forward to gathering with girlfriends tomorrow for some girltime and pretty delicious drinks. I also want to write a poem about friendship. A dear friend asked me to write her a poem on this theme. This space here is my confession booth… I’ve not done it. But I will… Do enjoy the weekend pretty You!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. classiq / Mar 19 2011 7:12 am

    So beautifully said! Have a wonderful weekend! Ada

  2. Susu Paris Chic / Mar 20 2011 8:20 am

    You came into my life. Something was born that was not there before. Just like you said it, dear. It is as if I had met a matching piece to me – my soul, thoughts, passions, sensitivity.

Leave a Reply

