Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / mashappiness

Women’s Work

Marianne Williamson does the kind of work that I would love to do. She teaches, travels to give workshops, and is an accomplished author. I take my steps in hope of having a similiar kind of career, though I am incredibly at the beginning. I just read a letter that she has written and it amazes me how much she has hit a few issues on the head, in my opinion. In her letter she talks about the feminist movement and the positives and not so positives that have come out of it.

When people ask me about men and dating and my opinion. I have been at a loss for words. It seems that in so many ways it has come to women giving themselves away like spare change in desperation of winning over a man. Sure we girls have the freedom to do what we want with ourselves, but it seems very much like freedom of speech, that we can use this power wisely.

Marianne goes on to talk about women’s work. How many, not all (and certainly not me), have looked upon the idea of women being at home to take care of the home and the children as less admirable than being out in the world. She speaks about the integral importance of this responsability and ability to the well being of our children and ourselves, in living in a well adjusted society. In addition, for the women who choose a career or work outside of the home, important also, that she knows that the world and it’s children are hers to care for as well. I do believe that we women do have a gift of care and nurture, and the way we use it is integral to the well being of our society, near and far.

The last point I’ll make about her well written and extensive article is that I have been deflated by folks taking care of just their own. The saying goes “Us four and no more.” That the care and love one has is for only family members and loved ones. This is wonderful and admirable, but we all need one another’s love, respect and care. A simple way of being in the world that is respectful and caring of one another, I think, will paint our world more beautifully and hospitable. Her article can be found here It moves me and I just wanted to share it. Sending loads of love and hoping you are having a beautiful day…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Angie Muresan / Mar 24 2011 1:44 pm

    That kind of selfish mentality that goes on in families is not allowed in ours. Respect and love is required for all those around us. A smile and a kind word goes a very long way.
    Thinking of you and hoping you are well. I’m having a bit of an issue with spring allergies. Love to you, dear friend.

  2. Susu Paris Chic / Mar 26 2011 5:38 pm

    I should take time to read the article. The one you pointed out sometime back upon looking at what is God-made in us really inspired. I also want to spread care and love to fellow life travelers.

Leave a Reply

