Skip to content
January 12, 2012 / mashappiness

keeping up with Oprah

sketch book of marc chagall

i try to keep up with what Oprah and her peeps are up to because let’s face it, they do fabulous and interesting work. there is now a sketch book project with the brooklyn art library. i think the idea is to participate in creating a sketch book and then to have it published in collaboration with others who are working on the project. there is an explanation of it if you click on the brooklyn art library link above. it caught my eye because last summer while walking in the williamsburg section of brooklyn i stumbled on the library that houses sketch books. artist’s from all over the world fill sketch books and send them in.

The Brooklyn Art Library

it’s an interesting idea that i am still trying to get my mind around. do participate if you feel like it. i can see how sketching everyday would be good for the heart and mind. i myself am still trying to develop writing everyday. i have a story that i am creating daily. i am not sure where it is going and i am not sure if that is a good idea or not. there is this idea in writing to just write and see where it goes. others are of the idea to have in mind, or even better, an outline of what you want to do and where you want to go, to help you get there. what are your thoughts on these matters? do tell…

one last thing about sketch books… i pop in often to the blog of joo joo. she does the most splendid and beautiful work. and too, what she shares is incredibly soothing and good for the heart in my opinion. trust me if you will… pop in on her blog here. with a cup of tea in hand, or listening to the sweetest music, i pop in on her blog and treat myself to the beauty and creativity that she shares! go now! 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ms. Geek Goddess / Jan 13 2012 5:59 am

    Wow, I have never heard of anything like this before! So cool! I would love to visit! 🙂 In terms of writing… for me it is a little bit of a mixture. A lot of the story is written out in my head, but then there are blanks spots that must write themselves. I have this writing book that talks about outlining and I did try to start doing it after I read it and it does help you to get a feel for where the chapter is going. I think that he also said to treat the chapter like it’s own document or something along the lines. I guess while still keeping it part of the book. I was told to write at least an hour a day and even if it is just a bunch of words just getting it out helps me to form more of the story. Blessings on your story! I also am now following joo joo’s blog. She is mad talented!!!!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. mashappiness / Feb 20 2012 8:23 pm

    you know what? i have read your comment a few times now. what a wonderful group of words, full of inspiration and instruction. thanks for sharing… it’s helpful.

    so glad you liked joo joo’s blog. her work is quite fabulous! and we are girl’s who can appreciate the fabulous indeed!

Leave a Reply

