Skip to content
March 15, 2013 / mashappiness

take it… easy

“…  why let some other person decide how you are going to act? Why not act as you want to act, as a mature, loving, understanding, helpful person?”

there has been something on my mind for about a week now. i popped in on the strand book store here in new york and asked for a book. i wasn’t sure of the title. the person working there and assisting me was rude and dismissive. and after little effort she said to me “we don’t have what you are looking for here.”

this hurt me. i am not quite sure why. perhaps it has something to do with her judging the kind of book i was looking for. maybe she was judging me. my own insecurities. i suspect the reasons for her behavior had nothing to do with me at all, how could it, she does not know me, and neither she nor i knew what i was looking for specifically, so it could not be a genuine judgement on my tastes.

none of this matters really. what matters is that her behavior was hurtful to me, and it stayed with me. i have not been sure how to shake this feeling. i wanted to give her a piece of my mind, but i knew this was not the answer, it does not help her nor I.

i ran across the above quote this morning, and further reading helps me to understand a bit more about non-resistance. we may know that in non-resistance the idea is not to push back, but to allow that which we wish to pass, to well, let it pass through as if water, let it be on it’s way.

i am learning something more. the idea of turning the other cheek is explained as turning to our higher self, allowing and finding our place in the Divine within us. to be higher than the situation, to not stay in the place of her rudeness and dismissal, and to not stay in the place of my being hurt. it does not serve us well, and nothing about it is true, not her reasons for her behavior, and not my thoughts on being hurt.

in knowing that my real self, and her real self, in all that is true about us, not what we have come to believe and how we behave in connection to the cultures and societies we live in, but in that we are perfect, who we are truly… finding our place in this, is where our lives and our days unfold in a more truthful and perfect way…which equates to beauty and peace in our moments and hours and days and our life. getting to joy and peace is something more enjoyable…

the people who we meet, are indeed our teachers.

does any of this seem true to you luvs?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. http://www.appareilphotoetanche.org / Mar 17 2013 4:07 am

    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to
    start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    • mashappiness / Mar 18 2013 6:38 pm

      Hello there, it seems I am using a theme called paper punch. i started blogging some years ago and i remember through trial and error i managed to find a look that i like. Have fun and best wishes for your blogging endeavors:)! Thanks a bunch for popping in and such a lovely compliment…

  2. María Navarro / Mar 19 2013 4:53 pm

    Moitto interesante

Leave a Reply

